A look into the Madrid Metro

Over the past few weeks, I’ve become nearly a professional at the Madrid Metro. It cannot get much easier. So, as my System 1 thinking gets me to the right places as I wander through the Metro, I am constantly observing. Not only are some of the people fascinating, but the flow, the sounds, and the energy to mention a few. In attempts to make this post interesting, I searched YouTube to see if I could find a video that shows how I feel on a daily basis as I stroll through the different stations. While there was no video that captured the entire essence, I did stumbled upon this video from a few years ago. It’s definitely not what you see in the Madrid Metro on a daily basis, but I thought it was too good to pass up and hey, it shows the energy levels for sure.

So, there is my introduction. What exactly have I observed on the Madrid Metro over the past few weeks? Well, I’d like to highlight a few things today.

First and foremost, I have got my commute down good. If you recall my post about my first day of work, you might remember how stressful the commute was. Not only were my nerves going haywire for work, but quickly navigating through the busy parts of the station and forcing yourself onto the train does not make for an easy morning. Now, I can nearly be sleepwalking to the lower levels. Not only do I know how much time I must allow for myself at certain points in the journey, but I have also managed to get my commute down to nearly 30 minutes! It’s the simple little changes that make the biggest differences such as knowing which side of the track you need to be on – instead of taking the escalator down, use the stairs route – or how much time is allotted between your first train and your second one. These changes have made dramatic changes on my commute to work and for that, I am thankful!

Next up: Madrid Metro performers might be one of my greatest loves and dislikes. Each day, through a series of stations, I encounter many performers on the Metro system. I have my regulars, however, ever now and then, we have a random one. As I switch trains at Plaza de Castillas and head to Linea 9, I meet the same man daily. He is strumming on his keyboard with this expression-filled, intense, eyes-closed face. Every. Single. Day. Now, it would be awesome if he was playing beautiful, classical songs or something along those lines, however, when I have my iPod on and can still hear his tunes which consist of random notes with prerecorded music, I may or may not want to go crazy. As if early mornings were not enough, he is sure to be waiting for me after work even though I am in a completely different area of the station. So, to all you Linea 9 y 10 people, I feel your pain. However, there are some incredible artist. Each day, there is this man who plays his violin in Plaza de Castillas. How I long to just stand and listen to his beautiful music. He makes me smile daily. On occasion, you have a few talented individuals on your train playing guitar and singing, violins, trumpets, or other instruments. Once I arrive home to Tribunal, as I take my five escalators to the top, I encounter all types of musicians including: drumming to African music, full rock bands, karaoke, and so much more.

Linea 1 is currently closed in a section of four stations, including my station. It will not be opened again until Mid-September and you would have thought the world ended! In our station, the entrance is completely blocked off and people do not know what to do. To walk that entire section would take no more than 20 minutes, but the convenience is gone… and people surely have something to say about that. It has been a daily treat since Saturday to watch people fight with the Security Guards. Please, attempt to get through them, then break a fence, and operate the track on your own. I think it will work well.

There are so many other interesting things about the Madrid Metro system, however, I’ll save that for another day! As always, thanks for reading.

4 responses to “A look into the Madrid Metro

Leave a Reply

